top of page

Creation under limitations and constraints

Working on white canvas or smooth wooden boards theoretically allows complete freedom of creation. Working with DeadWoods - is work under constraints of the material structure and its complexity. It is a situation that creates a conflict between the urge to create and the severe limitations imposed by this fragile and convoluted material. I was surprised to find that it was the constraints that excited me and focused me and eventually expanded my creative range in terms of daring and the use of different materials. In her book "Creativity from Constraints: The Psychology of Breakthrough" the author Patricia Stoke claims that it is not boundless creative freedom that evokes new ideas, but constraints imposed on the creator. This can certainly explain the pleasure involved in my work, every object I start working with is a new, exciting, and very different challenge from its predecessor.



bottom of page